Strange Tales from the Strand Magazine

Containing twenty-nine stories of the weird and uncanny, all originally published in the Strand, this collection is an enthralling mix of horror and the supernatural, unnatural disasters, madness, and revenge. We read of a germ that turned the world blind in Edgar Wallace's "The Black Grippe." In "A Sense of the Future," the world supply of oil gives out, cars become obsolete, and after three months we have returned to the days of horse-drawn carriages. In other tales, a camera takes pictures of the future, and a 1971 newspaper is pushed through a mail slot forty years earlier. With spine-tingling stories from the likes of Sapper, Graham Greene, D.H. Lawrence, and Arthur Conan Doyle, and a comic fantasy by H.G. Wells, as well as two tales from the children's writer E. Nesbit, Strange Tales from the Strand provides a rich collection for all lovers of the macabre.


All But Empty (1947) by Graham Greene

Lord Beden's Motor (1901) by Harris Burland

The Tarn (1923) by Hugh Walpole

Resurgam (1915) by Rina Ramsay

The Railway Carriage (1931) by F. Tennyson Jesse

The Bell (1946) by Beverley Nichols

His Brother's Keeper (1922) by W. W. Jacobs

Touch and Go (1926) by Sapper

Waxworks (1922) by W. L. George

White Spectre (1950) by B. L. Jacot

'Tickets, Please!' non-genre (1919) by D. H. Lawrence

A Torture by Hope (1991) by Villiers de l'Isle-Adam

A Horrible Fright (1894) by L. T. Meade

The Case of Roger Carboyne (1892) by H. Greenhough Smith

The Orchestra of Death (1918) by Ianthe Jerrold

The Lizard (1898) by C. J. Cutcliffe Hyne

Inexplicable (1917) by L. G. Moberly

The Prophetic Camera (1922) by L. de Giberne Sieveking

Cavalanci's Curse (1899) by Henry A. Hering

The Queer Story of Brownlow's Newspaper (1932) by H. G. Wells

The Black Grippe (1920) by Edgar Wallace

The Fog (1908) by Morley Roberts

The Thames Valley Catastrophe (1897) by Grant Allen

A Sense of the Future (1924) by Martin Swayne

The Silver Mirror (1908) by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Haunted House (1913) by E. Nesbit

How It Happened (1913) by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Power of Darkness (1905) by E. Nesbit

The Horror of the Heights (1913) by Arthur Conan Doyle